Skip to content

Kenny’s Big TV

December 14, 2008

ALTERNATELY TITLED: ALLISON IS USUALLY RIGHT

 So, Kenny got his Christmas present early this year. He has been wanting an HD TV for about 18 months now, and has been waiting pretty patiently. Well, Kenny asks for very little. He is an amazingly supportive husband, an incredible father, and he is a very successful man in the way that he provides for our family. We are quite blessed. Because Kenny does so much for me – usually without being asked and without any complaining – I decided it was time for him to get his wish. He really doesn’t ask for anything, and he doesn’t have any expensive hobbies, and he doesn’t randomly spend lots of money. It was time for him to get his TV!

When I told him that I wanted to get him a TV for Christmas, the look he gave me was priceless. One of shock and excitement rolled into one. I had only one stipulation: it needed to fit in the TV armoire we have. We’ve only had it for a couple of years, and it matches the computer cabinet in the same room. It matches our decor, there’s nothing wrong with it, and I didn’t want to have to get a new one. Kenny had already measured the cabinet space and decided a 40″ TV would fit.

We headed out to Nebraska Furniture Mart to make our purchase. We walked directly to the TV section and immediately spotted an associate (you know, the guys who walk around and sell you stuff). We told him we had seen the Sony Bravia TVs in their sales ad and that we wanted to purchase one. He took us to the TV, and as I looked at it, I said, “Are you sure this is going to fit in our cabinet?” The response was something like, [looking at me like I’m an idiot] “I looked up the dimensions of the TV online, and I measured the cabinet. It will fit!” I said, “OK. It’s your TV.” End of conversation. It was, by FAR, the fastest trip we’ve ever made to NFM. We paid, pulled through the pick-up line, and were loaded up with a giant box.

Assembly of the TV begins. Things are OK.

Assembly of the TV begins. Things are OK.

By the time we got home, it was past the kids’ bedtime. I took them up to bed while Kenny unloaded the TV and started to set it up. When I came downstairs, I said, “Kenny, are you sure that’s going to fit? It looks really big to me.” He replied, with a little hesitancy, “It does look kind of big. But don’t worry, I measured it. It will fit!”

The TV is starting to look big to me, but Kenny assures me it will fit. He MEASURED.

The TV is starting to look big to me, but Kenny assures me it will fit. He MEASURED.

One more screw and we'll be ready to put it in the cabinet!

One more screw and we'll be ready to put it in the cabinet!

Kenny got to work assembling the TV. Once it was on its stand I was sure it wasn’t going to fit. However, Kenny was still sure that, though it would be tight, the TV would slide right in. Well…

Hmmm. Having a little trouble here. Maybe if I wiggle it this way.

Hmmm. Having a little trouble here. Maybe if I wiggle it this way.

Hmmm, let’s try it this way….

I hate it when you're right.

What is the problem here? I MEASURED!!!! And then, those beautiful words: I hate it when you're right.

Yeah. Just what I thought. I’m pretty sure the conversation that followed went something like this:

K: I hate it when you’re right. (he really did say this!)

A: I told you it wouldn’t fit.

K: It doesn’t fit in straight. It fits at an angle.

A: An angle? I don’t want the TV at an angle! I like things to be even!

K: Maybe I could cut a hole in the cabinet. Or, we could get a new TV cabinet.

A: Or maybe we could take this TV back and get a 37″.

K: [with a look that totally said the thought of getting a smaller TV had NEVER entered his mind] The dimensions online must be wrong. I measured the cabinet. They must not have accounted for this part [pointing to a piece of plastic on the back]. It should fit!

I don’t really know where the conversation went from there. What I do know is that the TV is in our regular cabinet, at an angle, and it drives me crazy.

But Kenny is happy, and when the king of the castle is happy, everyone else has a much better chance of being the same.

And Barney is absolutely huge on this thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

