Skip to content

I’ve come a long way, baby

January 30, 2009

When Kenny and I first started dating, he told me his mom makes the best cinnamon rolls. She is known for them, and he absolutely loves them. I distinctly remember saying, “You can make cinnamon rolls from scratch? They don’t have to come out of a can?” I didn’t have a clue. Which is actually kind of funny, because most things in my home growing up were made from scratch – just not cinnamon rolls. In fact, I baked cookies for a friend in college and he asked me what kind of mix I used. I laughed, because I had never heard of a cookie mix. That just wasn’t something we ever had at our house.

So, fast forward to the present. I am a wife and a mother, and among the many things I do on a daily basis, I cook. A lot. I would even go so far as to say that I love to cook. It’s just fun. It’s creative therapy, and I’m good at it – so why not?

Where do I get my recipes? I have SO. MANY. COOKBOOKS. In fact, I picked up two new ones just yesterday (even though they’re about cupcakes and pink princess tea parties, which are kind of different from the norm) and have already made a significant dent in them. I read cookbooks like most people read books – from cover to cover.  Even though I have all of these cookbooks, I don’t often use them for my recipes. I prefer to go online to www.allrecipes.com and search through the extensive collection there. People who’ve made a recipe can rate and review it. I find the reviews so very helpful in deciding what I’m going to change in a recipe – because I almost always change something.

So, while on www.allrecipes.com the other day, searching for a hamburger bun recipe, I came across THIS recipe. OH MY GOODNESS. They looked so good! As soon as I saw them, out went the idea of making hamburger buns, and into the bread machine went ingredients to make cinnamon rolls. Here’s what you need to make these scrumptious rolls for yourself:

Dough:
1 C. warm milk (about 110F)
2 eggs, room temperature
1/3 C. margarine, melted
4 1/2 C. all-purpose flour (because that’s what I had)
1 t. salt
1/2 C. sugar
2 1/2 t. bread machine yeast

Filling:
1 C. brown sugar, packed
2 1/2 T. cinnamon (I used about 2 T.)
1/3 C. butter, softened (I used Country Crock Light w/ no problem)

Icing: (my recipe is different than website!)
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1/2 C. butter, softened
1 t. vanilla
4 C. powdered sugar (this is a guess – I added until I liked the taste!)

Other things you’ll need:

  • a bread machine
  • a big work surface to roll out your dough
  • an eager toddler who insists on doing EVERYTHING you do
  • a friend who will try to keep the toddler at bay
  • a husband with a camera to take pictures – this only works if the hubby seems truly annoyed that he’s been called to take pictures of you making cinnamon rolls
  • DOUGH: Put the liquid ingredients in first, then the dry. Make a well in your dry ingredients (you know, a hole that does NOT reveal the liquid beneath) and put your yeast in there. Then push start on your bread machine – make sure it’s on the dough setting! The dough cycle on my bread machine in 1.5 hrs, so when you add that to the time it took to put the ingredients in the pan and push start, it took about 1 hr and 37 minutes to make this dough. When it was done, I took it out of the machine and put it under a metal bowl. You’re only supposed to wait 10 minutes, but dinner was just coming out of the oven, so I decided to sit down and eat first. When I got back to the dough, it had been under the metal bowl for about 25 minutes and had risen considerably. I then rolled it out on the counter to a16 x 21 rectangle. Kennison and Tori helped.

    FILLING: We then spread our Country Crock Light onto the dough. We didn’t measure, we just gave it a nice layer.

    jan-2009-053After that, it was time to sprinkle the brown sugar/cinnamon mixture.

    jan-2009-059Make sure your daughter isn’t licking her fingers and then sticking them back in the bowl with the cinnamon/sugar mixture.

    jan-2009-058When our dough was thoroughly covered with what would soon be ooey gooeyness, we rolled it up.

    jan-2009-063Then we sliced the roll into 12 pieces.

    jan-2009-065We put them in a glass 9×13 pan, and let them rise in an oven that had been preheated to 200°F but then TURNED OFF. They did this for about 20 minutes, then got pulled out so we could actually preheat the oven to 400°F for baking. 10 minutes later, we put them in the oven for about 13 minutes. We made the frosting while they baked. Don’t forget to take a picture of your daughter with your camera case on her head.

    jan-2009-066FROSTING: Beat cream cheese, butter, vanilla, and powdered sugar together. When the rolls emerged from the oven, I immediately flipped them over by placing a cutting board against the top edges of the pan and turning over. I did this to allow the filling that had collected in the bottom of the pan to get back into the rolls. I left them like this for about a minute and then turned them right-side up again. I started icing the rolls immediately, because I wanted the icing to melt. It was beautiful.

    jan-2009-067You’ll have too much icing, but I think that’s a good thing… as I dished out the rolls, I added an extra glob or two of icing to each one so it could melt down the sides of the rolls that didn’t have icing yet. Yum.

    Kenny enjoyed his with a Pepsi. Kennison, Jack and I opted for milk. I think Tori and Mike would have loved if I’d offered them coffee, but since I don’t drink coffee, I don’t offer it. Everyone at the table liked these – Kennison ate more than half of one, which is amazing. Tori said they tasted as good, if not better, than Cinnabon. Mike said they were definitely better. Kenny would only say they were “equally tasty” in comparison to his mom’s cinnamon rolls. I loved them and am so glad I no longer have to go to the airport to get one.

    Did I mention I served these for dessert? It wasn’t even breakfast. But you know what? Not one person complained. I think they want me to make them again. Then again, maybe I just want another one…

    One Comment leave one →
    1. Krissy permalink
      February 1, 2009 9:41 am

      Mmmm, now I want a cinnamon role right now! I can’t resist telling you my current recipe website…www.kevinandamanda.com. She’s a scrapbooker, but also posts a bunch of recipes with step-by-step pictures and every single one I’ve made is soooo yummy!

    Leave a Reply

