Skip to content

100 posts, 100 thoughts…

March 10, 2009

So, I’ve finally reached that magic number… 100 blog posts! I couldn’t decide what I wanted to do for my 100th blog post. Lots of people make a big deal about it. Many people reminisce about past musings. Others do funny activities. I thought about posting 100 pictures for you, but that’s a LOT of pictures, and I don’t really have the patience to upload that many files. And, I don’t know how I’d narrow it down to 100 photos from the (literally) THOUSANDS on my hard drive. So instead, I am going to post 100 things about my family – 25 things about each person living under this roof. We’ll see how long this takes me.

Kenny first:
1. Kenny is the most amazing man I’ve ever met.
2. He is generous yet sensible, smart and insightful, strong but sensitive, and supportive while not being overbearing.
3. He is so funny. You think you know, but you don’t.
4. He really likes pea salad. I don’t get it.
5. When I deal with customer service people, I get angry and raise my voice and usually eventually accomplish what I need to accomplish. He stays level and calm and usually accomplishes what he needs to accomplish.
6. Kenny will bring his pop cans into the kitchen and put them in the sink, but he will not rinse them out and put them in the drainer.
7. He will kill any bug for me, and take dead lizards and squirrels off the porch for me. (Our dogs are proud of their hunting abilities.)
8. Kenny can fix almost anything. He is very handy.
9. Kenny is NOT good at electrical work.
10. Kenny will eat anything I cook and tell me it’s good, even when I know it’s not.
11. He does almost all the cleaning and the laundry.
12. He is an incredible father.
13. He gets up in the middle of the night when the children cry. (Hmm, looking at this list, I’m starting to think he’d run this house pretty good without me – and he wouldn’t have to deal with my messes!)
14. He loves the Lord of the Rings movies. We watch them a lot.
15. Kenny snores. Loudly.
16. He is very hard-working.
17. Kenny will do just about anything for me, no matter what I ask.
18. Kenny makes the best popcorn. Period.
19. Kenny is a fantastic meat smoker. He loves it, too.
20. If you’d like to make a donation to Kenny’s smoker fund (he wants a big professional one) please e-mail him at freddy3038@yahoo.com.
21. He loves clean sheets.
22. Kenny will help me look for something when I can’t find it, even if it takes hours, because he knows I won’t give up until we locate it.
23. Kenny’s middle name is Wayne – like a cowboy.
24. Kenny has always been close to his family.
25. My parents like Kenny better than they like me.

About Kennison:
1. She is so silly, and she makes us laugh all the time.
2. This kid loves suckers.
3. She loves to sing.
4. Kennison was born in a hospital in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.
5. She loves to watch Barney.
6. When she’s told to go to timeout, she almost ALWAYS says, “No! I gonna listen!” Often, her being sent to timeout has nothing to do with listening. Ironic, no?
7. Her favorite book is “I Was So Mad” by Mercer Mayer. She “reads” it to us all the time.
8. My “song” for her is “Snuggle Puppy” by Sandra Boynton.
9. She is fully potty trained when she is awake.
10. She loves to play with her kitchen and tea set.
11. Kennison loves going to preschool.
12. She is super-smart.
13. Kennison can throw a tantrum like no one you know.
14. We cannot get her to get out of her bed on her own. She only gets out of bed when we tell her she can.
15. Kennison can still wear some 18-month clothing. Some 3T stuff fits her, too.
16. She repeats random things she hears on TV.
17. She loves to sing in the car with me, and often says, “Wanna sing with me Mommy?” even when she doesn’t know any of the words.
18. Pushing the button on the garage door opener is very important to her.
19. She likes to go to Colton’s room in the morning, fling open the door, say “Good morning, Coco Bean!” and climb into his crib with him.
20. She likes routine. For example, every day when she goes down for her nap, she tells me “When I wake up, I no have to cry, I just come find you!” – but she never comes and finds me. She fusses until I get her.
21. She calls “Charmed” the “Piper Leo show”.
22. Blanky is a very important member of our family.
23. Kennison loves to eat fruit snacks.
24. She is constantly picking up phones and pretending to have conversations with random people.
25. Kennison is totally sweet and caring and is an incredible little person. We are blessed with the gift of being her parents.

Colton:
1. He has had more ear infections than any child ever should.
2. He is the happiest baby I have ever met.
3. Colton loves his sister and thinks she is hysterical.
4. Colton is Daddy’s little boy. The sun rises and sets with him!
5. Colton is walking everywhere these days.
6. He is excellent at climbing stairs.
7. He signs “more” frantically when he wants something.
8. He loves to play with his cousin Jack, even though most of their together-time consists of taking things from one another.
9. Colton is a serious cuddlebug when he’s sick.
10. He often bangs his head against things – on purpose. Why would he do that?
11. He loves his bottle. That’s going to be a hard habit to break.
12. Colton prefers to sleep on his stomach.
13. Just about everywhere we go, someone comments on how good-looking he is.
14. He and his sister are only separated by 4 pounds and maybe 4 inches.
15. Colton takes his socks off, all the time.
16. He loves to mess with his sister’s stuff. I think he does it just to bother her.
17. My song with him is “Evermore” by Sandra Boynton.
18. Colton’s nickname is Destructor, because he loves to pull anything and everything off shelves, out of bins, and knock things on the floor.
19. Colton and I both weighed exactly the same when we were born, both by C-section – 8 lbs 15 oz.
20. He likes to have screaming contests.
21. He loves to play with his daddy through the cat door in the basement.
22. Colton likes to take dirty diapers out of the pail in Tori’s living room. Yuck.
23. Colton has a very sly smile.
24. He likes to play/sit in Moby’s water bowl. (Moby is Jack’s dog.)
25. Colton, though a surprise, has truly blessed our family, and we are so grateful for the gift of being his parents.

Finally, about me:
1. I can wiggle my ears (without using my hands).
2. I love Kraft macaroni and cheese. I always have.
3. I have always wanted to have a lot of kids. I used to want 6. Now Kenny and I are discussing 4.
4. I really look forward to seeing my sister when she comes to visit. Even though we’re very different, I enjoy talking to her, and I miss her. I also hate that she misses seeing Kennison and Colton grow up on a regular basis. That’s one of the big reasons I have this blog – so our family that lives far away can keep up through stories and pictures!
5. I am obsessed with Rt44 diet cherry Diet Dr. Peppers with extra real cherries from Sonic.
6. My summer job is fabulous. I get to go to camp and play all day while teaching kids the importance of character.
7. I went to college in NC, and it’s the only time in my life I’ve moved somewhere when I didn’t know anyone. Kind of exciting.
8. I hate having my picture taken.
9. Tori says I have big feet.
10. Tori says Jack doesn’t like me.
11. I am so so messy, all the time.
12. I love to cook, and I’m pretty good at it. (I always make a mess in the kitchen.)
13. I make really good cheesecakes.
14. Tori and I are enjoying working on items for our business, Monkeystitch. If you haven’t checked it out, visit our site by clicking on the Monkeystitch logo in my right sidebar.
15. I love watching my kids learn something new or figure something out.
16. My parents are incredibly generous and helpful, and I am so thankful for them.
17. I am not a natural redhead – even though I wish I was.
18. I gained 6 lbs while I was pregnant with Colton, and after he was born, I weighed 20 lbs less than I did when I first learned I was pregnant.
19. I love spending time with my kids, but I also appreciate my alone time and time with other adults.
20. I invented the early version of the McGriddle. In fact, when I was in college, I won an award (I think from my sorority sisters, but I’m not sure) for the nastiest breakfast sandwich – toast with scrambled eggs and bacon on it, topped with a bit of syrup. I’ll have you know McDonald’s is doing pretty well with the same concept these days!
21. I love to buy fabric and patterns and pretend I’m going to make something, only to put the materials in the basement and never touch them again.
22. I have been on an organization spree lately, and I’m trying to get the entire house in order. It’s not going well.
23. I have a TON of purses and tote bags.
24. I love to make food from scratch. I don’t usually like to watch Rachael Ray or model her cooking style because I think 30 minutes doesn’t allow enough time for “gourmet”. I know, I’m weird.
25. I am blessed with an amazing family and surrounded by great friends. I am truly happy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

