Skip to content

Both children at home with just MOM

February 25, 2008

This was only the 2nd day I’ve had both children at home by myself. I know I should get used to it – I mean, both kids are mine, and there will be times when Kenny will have things to do outside of the house and I will be left in charge of the young’ns. Well, used to it or not – these two are a lot of WORK! It seems like as soon as I met the needs of one, the other would need something… or even better, they would both need something at the exact same time. I know they’re young (obviously – a 2 year old and a 7 week old!) and I love them dearly, but I was run ragged today! I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that I’ve never done “the infant thing” before, and I’m still learning – a lot – every day.

So our day basically went like this…

  • 6:15 – Kenny leaves for work putting Colton in bed with me
  • 6:45 – Kennison wakes up – I move Colton to his room and Kennison to our bed

    kennison-colton-005.jpg

  • 7:30 – I wake up to Kennison standing next to me on the bed, staring at me and grinning (probably just a sign of the day)
  • 8:00 – Crying baby wanting to eat
  • 8:30 – Screaming toddler wanting to be held
  • 8:45 – Sleepy baby – back to bed
  • 9:00 – time for Kennison to take a bath kennison-colton-001.jpg
  • 9:45 – Kennison and I clean the living room – meaning for every toy I pick up, she gets 3 more out  (by the way, loving those magnetic sticks and balls, Grandma – the way they roll under the couch and all) kennison-colton-010.jpg
  • 10:15 – Baby’s awake and ready to eat again
  • 10:30 -Toddler decides to eat now VERY soggy bowl of cereal, dripping milk across the floor
  • 10:45 – Colton is sleeping again, this time in the bassinet (surprise)

    kennison-colton-009.jpg

  • 11:00 – Time to make lunch – chicken nuggets, corn, and french frieskennison-colton-013.jpg
  • 11:30 – I give Kennison her divided bowl with corn in one half and ketchup for chicken and fries in the other
  • 11:31 – I turn around from getting the nuggets to find most of the ketchup gone (except for what’s on Kennison’s face) and the spoon resting neatly where the ketchup used to be
  • 11:32 – Stop to take a picture – it’s too funny that Kennison believes ketchup is its own food group
  • 11:45 – Baby wants to be held
  • 11:46 – Kennison wants to be held
  • 11:47 – Full lap for mommy
  • 11:55 – Colton falls asleep and is put in Moses basket (the same basket I slept in a little more than 27 years ago)kennison-colton-011.jpg
  • 12:00 – Time to put Kennison down for a nap
  • 12:10 – I can eat lunch
  • 12:14 – Just kidding, baby wants to eat
  • 12:40 – Now Mom has time to eat
  • 12:45 – Kennison wakes up crying, so Colton goes to his Boppy on my bed while I rock Kennison
  • 12:49 – I hear Colton crying, so Kennison is put back in bed and I go to check on Colton
  • 12:50 – Colton has fallen asleep in the Boppy colton-kennison-043-1.jpg
  • 12:55 – Kennison is crying again, so I bring her to our bed and move Colton to his crib
  • 1:00 – A shower for me – finally, time to myself! I tell Kennison she has to lay down while I’m gone
  • 1:08 – Out of the shower to find a toddler dancing on the bed
  • 1:20 – Time to get ready to leave the house!

And that just gets us to early afternoon. Wow! So busy! I love my children and the busy they create, but I get tired! Kennison had her two-year-old check up, and she HATES the doctor. There was screaming – at one point, both Kennison and Colton were crying, and the nurse was giving me a dirty look. Sorry, lady, if you weren’t wearing scrubs, you probably wouldn’t freak her out so much. We confirmed Kennison is small – surprise! kennison-colton-006.jpgShe is in the 10th percentile for height and is under the 5th percentile for weight on the American growth chart – I am going to chart her on a Vietnamese growth chart later to see where that leaves us. We know she’s petite – that’s just the way God made her, and we love her, even though she will be a little ant compared to the giants in the Friedrich family.

The rest of the day was pretty typical… nothing too exciting to report! I am writing on our blog instead of picking up these toys… again… and crayons are everywhere. I am tired of the crayons and cleaning the lines off of our coffee table! I’m sure the crayons will still be here in the morning. I need to go to bed, because both of the children are asleep, and anyone who’s been a parent will tell you that you sleep when the kids sleep! So, goodnight, friends and family – and if any of you want to come over and clean the living room during the night, you know the code to the garage.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2008 9:07 pm

    WOW!!! What a day. I am glad that you are making it. The kids are growing up so fast. I can’t believe that Kennison is almost two. Great post. Love the blog!!!

    Peace,
    Hudsons

  2. February 26, 2008 9:09 pm

    ooops…Happy Birthday Kennison!!! We missed it.

  3. February 26, 2008 10:33 pm

    Hi, Allison, the baby is beautiful. Kennison is growing. Remember me? We are waiting to adopt from Vietnam. Journey to Kaylee.
    Melanie

Leave a comment